NaNoWriMo: The Quest

[Recent Microfiction]

“B-But you’re dead!” He cowered. She furrowed her eyebrows and slapped him across the face. “Get it together, Al!”

***

He fights so fluidly. No hesitation. Did the romance of flesh and metal poison him? I long for his forgiveness, Dr. D.

***

“You alright, lass?” I nod, catching sight of the black rag flapping on the mast. Jolly Roger. I should have drowned.

***

“Can ya please control yer kid?” The young woman shrieked at me. Mimi stomped. “I am not a child! I am 400 years old!”

***

She shrugged. “As much as I want to, I can’t take all of the glory. You just couldn’t resist Brooding Pretty-Boy.”

_______________________

NaNoWriMo.

It’s coming!

(And I’m pretty excited.)

My piece, Chaos Standard is coming along. Check out my synopsis! (It’s slightly vague and tentative.)

I’m also searching for some writing buddies who are involved in shades of the fantasy genre, and are going to take their writing seriously (as in, no unusual appearances by ninjas and rainbow-unicorns to make up for words at zero-hour!). I’m all for light-hearted adventure pieces, though! If you’re particular, Standard is sort of an epic-fantasy sword-and-magic-storm. A bit darkish in mood and atmosphere (literally), but there’ll be good times and warm moments. I may not be able to respond to emails on a daily basis due to my occupation as a college student, but I can throw some hellos/updates/links via Twitter.

If you’re interested, you can nanomail my profile, warriorcomplex (in link above), or leave me a message in the comments or from the “Contact RNR” page.

But anywhoo, regardless of who’s with/not with me, I’m still rolling, hehe.

 

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The Quest

  1. “Can ya please control yer kid?” The young woman shrieked at me. Mimi stomped. “I am not a child! I am 400 years old!”

    Haha, that one made me laugh. 🙂

    Judging from your synopsis, it definitely seems like you’ve put a lot of thought into the world. Sounds interesting. (Is this story why you’ve been so interested in Sir Newton of late? ;)) In any case, I wish you the best of luck with completing the Nano challenge.

    • Hehe =D

      Actually, this idea was fermenting in my head since 2007. Rediscovered it recently and added some things here and there. Haha–Newton and astronomy’s been tainting my ideas as of late. Not as much of him in this piece, though!

      Thanks, Tiyana! Hope that editing Element 7 is going great for you! =) I see that you’re near the half-way point!

      • 2007, eh? Sounds like me and my story–since January 1, 2007…

        Yeah, I’m almost at 50%, but I’m seriously confounded by how long it seems to be taking me just to get to the halfway mark. It’s like I flew through the first quarter and the second has felt as slow as molasses in comparison. o_O

      • Haha–but that’s in good time for your first novel, I guess!

        Your speed was pretty quick to me. *shrug* Is it slow because of the “middle-blues” or difficulty finding the right words to say?

Leave a comment