A Happy-Place Writing Space

I know that different writers have different workspaces, but I’ve often wondered about the Starbucks Scribe. The one (and only) Starbucks I’ve been to (on my college’s campus) is pretty cramped and crowded for most of the day. I guess that some are more pressured to write in an environment such as this (I find that I stay more on task when you study in a library or study hall than in my dorm room). And … others may like the important, “swanky” feeling of sipping from a Starbucks styrofoam cup in between pounding away on their Macbook keys. (Hey, maybe that’s some sort of Writer Fuel or something *shrug*. Perhaps the various types of people who walk in are inspirational, too.)

I’m not sure what location is my “ideal” workspace. Not sure if the “people-factor” adds or subtracts from my focus. As mentioned above, having people around keeps me focused (I’m less likely to cruise around on the Internet), but that can get me paranoid (I may feel that–don’t laugh–someone’s watching my screen or reading my work). If I’m around friends, they may want to chat or take a peak at what I’m working on. And most (if not all) of my friends aren’t exactly open-minded and serious about speculative writing …

Anywhoo, sometimes, I write on the couch, at the kitchen table, or even in bed (usually when everyone else is asleep). I guess I’m a person who likes to switch it up. “Normal conversation volume” voices can be soothing in a way when there are several conversations going on (with one conversation, I inadvertently eavesdrop).

Today, I discovered that moving air from a ceiling or table fan helps bring in a favorable ambiance for writing and reading. Natural light works quite nicely, too.

4 thoughts on “A Happy-Place Writing Space

  1. The location where we write is a lot like the setting of a story – you have to be in the right place to make the story work. It took me a while to figure out my “spot.” I’m not a fan of Starbuck’s cafes, but I love book store cafes. I can’t write at home unless its poetry. I love noise only when I need a new character and silence when the right word is just out of reach. 🙂

    • I agree (and still have yet to find an ideal spot)!

      Never worked in a book store cafe … You know, now that you’ve mentioned it, I should try that. There’s motivation around (and caffeine).

      Cool–I think I can see how noise would help with creating characters. =D

      Thanks for the visit and comment, Wentworth!

      • Book store cafes tend to be a bit quieter, although they still pulse with a lot of energy. If you go a few times to the same one, you’ll start to notice the regulars, which are golden opportunities for characters and even stories. Good luck!

        p.s. I call that caffeine “muse juice.” 🙂 Works every time.

Leave a comment